Does Grok Bot Have an API?
No. Grok Bot has no public API, no free tier and no startup credit program. It is sold only inside a subscription, and the product most developers actually want when they search "grok bot api" is a different one: xAI's separate Grok API.
xAI launched Grok Bot in beta on 11 August 2026. Grok 4.6 followed a day later, on 12 August.
If you came here to build a Discord bot, a Telegram bot or an agent of your own, the Grok API section below is the one that matters. If you came here to work out whether your existing plan already includes Grok Bot, the honest answer is that you should open your own billing page, and the reason why is worth reading.
AI Perks tracks $7.7M in credits across 194 companies for the layers of an AI stack that do run credit programs. Grok Bot is not one of them.

What Grok Bot Actually Is
Grok Bot is a persistent, always-on AI agent that xAI markets as an "AI teammate," not a model you call over HTTP.
Each agent gets its own dedicated cloud computer. From that machine it:
- Signs into tools and websites on your behalf
- Learns workflows by demonstration rather than by prompt
- Retains memory across sessions
- Coordinates with other agents
- Runs 24/7 without supervision
That last property explains the missing API. A product whose value is an unattended machine holding your credentials and working continuously is not shaped like a request and response endpoint. Its direct competitors in the persistent agent category are ChatGPT Agent and Claude Cowork.
Grok Bot shipped on desktop and iOS at launch. Android was described as planned. Enterprise access is by waitlist.
Grok Bot Is Not the @grok You Already Use
The free @grok chatbot that answers replies on X and the paid Grok Bot agent are different products that happen to share a name, and the overlap causes real confusion in search results.
Three distinct things carry the Grok brand:
| Product | What it is | Public API | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| @grok on X | Conversational chatbot that answers in replies | Not applicable | Free |
| Grok Bot | Persistent agent with its own cloud computer | No | Subscription only |
| Grok API (xAI API) | Developer API for xAI's Grok models | Yes | Pay per token, varies by model |
Only the third row is something you can build software on. The query "grok bot api" lands on all three, and the naming overlap is a genuine source of confusion. Separating the three is the single most useful thing to do before you spend anything.

Which Plans Include Grok Bot?
Per xAI's own page, Grok Bot is gated behind SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus, SuperGrok Heavy, Cursor Pro, Cursor Pro+, Cursor Ultra, Cursor Teams Standard and Cursor Teams Premium. Secondary coverage narrows that to the top tiers only, and the two accounts do not agree.
| Plan | Listed on xAI's official page | Price reported in secondary coverage |
|---|---|---|
| SuperGrok | Yes | Not stated |
| SuperGrok Plus | Yes | Not stated |
| SuperGrok Heavy | Yes | Around $300 per month |
| Cursor Pro | Yes | Not stated |
| Cursor Pro+ | Yes | Not stated |
| Cursor Ultra | Yes | Around $200 per month |
| Cursor Teams Standard | Yes | Not stated |
| Cursor Teams Premium | Yes | Around $120 per seat per month |
Treat xAI's own page as authoritative. The secondary reporting that limits access to SuperGrok Heavy, Cursor Ultra and Cursor Teams Premium conflicts with it, and neither side has been reconciled. Check your own billing page rather than trusting a tier list in an article, this one included.
Why does an xAI agent appear inside Cursor's plans at all? SpaceX acquired xAI in an all-stock merger announced 2 February 2026, and SpaceX and xAI acquired Anysphere, Cursor's parent, in June 2026. The bundling follows the ownership.
One early note on quality: a reviewer found the automatic model router "wasn't great" in the early beta. That is a user experience critique of a beta, not a reason to avoid the product, but it is worth knowing before you commit to a tier reported at around $300 per month. Credit programs that offset the rest of your stack are tracked at AI Perks.
What Developers Should Use Instead: the Grok API
The xAI Grok API is a separate product with a conventional pay-per-token model, and it is what you want if you are building a bot, an agent or any application on Grok models.
Two credit facts are worth knowing before you start:
- A new-account API credit of $25 per month has been reported as current.
- An optional Data Sharing Program grants a recurring $150 per month credit in exchange for sharing API request metadata and outputs.
Read that second one twice. The credit is real and it is the largest free allowance xAI offers, but the price is your request metadata and your model outputs. For a hobby bot that is a fine trade. For anything touching customer data it usually is not.
On token pricing, this page will not print a number. Published figures range widely across model generations and sources, which means any single quoted rate is likely wrong for the model you actually call.
Both your credit balance and the current per-model rates live in the same place: xAI's own developer console. That console is the only authoritative source for what you will actually be billed, and it is worth checking before you commit to an architecture.
| Route | Free credit available | Has an API |
|---|---|---|
| Grok Bot | None | No |
| Grok API, new account | $25 per month, reported | Yes |
| Grok API plus Data Sharing Program | A further $150 per month, reported | Yes |
| xAI startup credit program | No dedicated program | Not applicable |
That last row is the one that surprises people. xAI has no dedicated startup credit program comparable to OpenAI's or Anthropic's. The two reported credits above are the whole of the free allowance, and the larger one is conditional on accepting the data sharing terms. xAI has not published whether the two stack, so treat the console balance as the answer.

Where the Free Credits Actually Are
Grok Bot itself has no credit program of any kind. Model APIs, cloud compute and developer infrastructure are the layers where credit programs concentrate, and that is where the money actually is.
| Layer of the stack | Credit programs exist | Where to check |
|---|---|---|
| Persistent agents, Grok Bot included | None published | Subscription only |
| Model APIs, including Anthropic and OpenAI | Yes | AI Perks |
| Cloud and GPU compute | Yes | AI Perks |
| Dev tools and infrastructure | Yes | AI Perks |
The practical pattern for a team building on Grok models: pay for one Grok Bot seat if the agent genuinely saves someone hours, take the reported $25 per month API credit for development, and fund everything around it with credits from providers that give them away. The bill for an AI product is rarely one vendor.
AI Perks tracks $7.7M in credits across 194 companies, which covers the model, compute and tooling layers that xAI does not.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Grok Bot have an API?
No. Grok Bot has no public API and no developer endpoints. It is an agent product you use through a subscription, not a service you call from code. If you want to build a Discord or Telegram bot on Grok models, use xAI's separate Grok API instead. Credit programs for other providers are tracked at getaiperks.com.
Is Grok Bot free?
No. Grok Bot has no free tier and no trial. Access requires a paid SuperGrok or Cursor subscription. The free @grok chatbot on X is a different product that shares the name. Enterprise access is by waitlist, and Android was described as planned rather than available at the August 2026 beta launch.
What is the difference between Grok Bot and the Grok API?
Grok Bot is a persistent agent with its own cloud computer that signs into tools, learns workflows by demonstration and runs unsupervised. The Grok API is a conventional pay-per-token developer API for xAI's models. Different products, different access models. Only the API is something you can build software on.
How much does the Grok API cost?
Pricing varies by model generation, and published figures differ enough across sources that quoting one would mislead you. Check xAI's own console for current rates on the model you plan to call. New accounts have a reported $25 per month API credit, and an optional data sharing program carries a reported $150 per month credit.
Does xAI offer free credits or a startup program?
xAI has no dedicated startup credit program comparable to OpenAI's or Anthropic's. The available free credit is a reported $25 per month for new API accounts, and a reported $150 per month if you opt into data sharing. Other providers do run startup programs, and AI Perks tracks $7.7M across 194 companies at getaiperks.com.
Which subscription includes Grok Bot?
xAI's official page lists SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus, SuperGrok Heavy, Cursor Pro, Pro+, Ultra, Teams Standard and Teams Premium. Secondary coverage claims access is limited to the top tiers only. The two disagree, so check your own billing page rather than trusting a tier list in an article, including this one.
Grok Bot has no credits. Most of your stack does.